Playing Small

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us.’ We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There’s nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we’re liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.” (A Return to Love: Reflections on the Principles of “A Course in Miracles”, Harper Collins, 1992. From Chapter 7, Section 3]) – Marianne Williamson

“You’re Playing Small Does Not Serve The World…”

As a 6′ 4″ tall African American man I get my fair share of stares, clutching of purses, and non-reciprocal greetings.  I have been loved and hated.  I have been mistaken and have mad mistakes.  I have been judged and even attempted to play the role of judge myself.  I have discriminated and been discriminated against.  I have gained and lost.  I have been abandoned and adopted.  I have lived.

Through all of this living, I have had times where the idea of me being important to the world has been questioned, by me and others; and I have experienced moments where my destiny’s significance is clear.  We all have experienced these dialectical moments.  However, I have learned that no matter the moment, the season, the relationship:  PLAYING SMALL DOES NOT SERVE THE WORLD!!!!

I am learning to shine my light!  I’m aggresively requesting the naysayers, haters, and human judges to pay attention!  I am meant to shine, and so are you!  As I’m liberated from my fear, it becomes contagious!  What if our feelings of measureless power to change the world spread across the airwaves as quickly as our scandals and shortcomings.  What if we told our children with our actions and our words that they were born to manifest or bring out God’s glory on earth.  What would be our lot if we were liberated?  What would our relational lives be if our thanksgiving was equal to our complaints? This world would be a different place, a living place, a liberated place.

Catch the flame, play in the big leagues.  God did not create us for small ball.

For your reflection: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FWW4KogocfQ

Peace, Blessing, and Light!

T2

2 thoughts on “Playing Small

Leave a comment